3 Brief Videos To Reconnect With the Goodness of Humanity

Chronic Evolution Issue 26

Hello! 👋 

Welcome to Issue 26 of the weekly Chronic Evolution newsletter, where I share mindfulness tips, tricks, and anecdotes to help you evolve your mindset in 5 minutes or less.

In light of current events, today’s issue reads a little differently than normal.

3 Brief Videos To Reconnect With the Goodness of Humanity

My heart feels heavy with everything happening in the world right now.

Flip on the TV or browse social media, and you see pain, suffering, and unspeakable tragedy. How do you keep moving forward when nothing seems to make sense? Where do we find the strength to continue?

I don’t have those answers for you.

I struggled to show up here today without them.

Horrific acts of violence are occurring right now – some make global news, others you’ll never hear about. But they’re still happening. Such needless loss of life – brutally violent loss of life – leaves me feeling sickened and woefully inadequate.

Today, I need to remind myself of the good in this world – and, in the words of Samwise Gamgee, that it’s worth fighting for.

Here are three quick videos that brought a smile to my face. I hope they do the same for you.

This positive focus is not meant to discount the very real current events going on right now. But it’s also okay to take a break from the news and prioritize self-care.

We may not be able to control what goes on around us, but we can choose our response. I don’t have all the answers, but I’m going to start by combating hatred with love and meeting violence with peace.

P.S. The meditation app Calm is sharing its Coping with the Weight of the World series at no cost right now. There’s a bedtime body scan, meditations on dealing with information overload and bearing tragedy, a series on connecting with humanity, and more.

To your chronic evolution,

Carly 

P.S. Know someone who would enjoy this newsletter? Click the button below to share it with them.

If these emails ever become a burden rather than something you look forward to opening each week, I encourage you to unsubscribe. (No hard feelings.)