• Chronic Evolution
  • Posts
  • The Finnish Concept of Sisu: Why It Can Help You Overcome Life’s Curveballs

The Finnish Concept of Sisu: Why It Can Help You Overcome Life’s Curveballs

Chronic Evolution Issue 2

Hello! 👋 

Welcome to Issue 2 of the Chronic Evolution weekly newsletter.

I’ve had this post floating around in my mind all week. The other evening when I sat down to eat cinnamon toast for dinner (yes, I’m 31 and I still eat cinnamon toast), I dictated this to my notes app and it all but wrote itself. I hope you find it valuable as you head into a new week.

The Finnish Concept of Sisu: Why It Can Help You Overcome Life’s Curveballs

When I set out to spend the afternoon with Eugene Levy in Lapland, Finland's northernmost region, I expected to be regaled with humorous monologues from a great Canadian comedian. What I didn’t expect was a masterclass on grit and determination.

But that’s exactly what I got.

To be clear, Eugene was in Finland. I was in my living room watching him reluctantly traverse the frozen landscape.

I’m talking about his new comedy series, The Reluctant Traveler, where he – cautiously and hesitantly – visits beautiful destinations around the world.

The very first episode takes place in Finland, and the locals are quick to share a key element of the Finnish culture: Sisu.

Fortitude and Bravery in the Face of Hopelessness

Sisu, as I learned, roughly translates to finding the grit and determination to persevere through tough, even hopeless, situations. There’s no direct translation, but from what I've gathered, it’s about relying on your inner strength to push through when the going gets tough.

Some consider sisu a success mindset that’s so ingrained in the Finnish culture that it’s been dubbed as "the word that explains Finland" in Roman Schatz’s book, From Finland with Love. No matter hows it’s defined – as courage, determination, steadfastness, or an indomitable spirit, this wonderful word certainly seems like a valuable characteristic to possess.

Though I’ve only just heard of sisu, this concept has stuck with me as I’ve gone about my week.

Is sisu the secret to happiness? Is this what Finns have tapped into, as the happiest people on the planet? Is it really as simple as doing really hard stuff and coming out the other side smiling in spite of it? (Notice that I said simple, not easy.)

It just might be.

Finding My Inner Sisu

Unknowingly, I’ve had to find my sisu before.

When debilitating chronic pain threatened to destroy my future and become my new normal, I had to tap into a part of me that I didn’t realize existed in order to find the resolve to heal.

It was one of the darkest moments of my life, and the journey was hard, but now, standing on the other side of it. I can honestly say I wouldn’t change a thing. Because going through that physical and mental pain forged me into who I am today.

And I like that person. I’m happy to know her.

I would even go so far as to say that I’m happier because I’ve grown into her.

Would I be who I am without that adversity? Would I appreciate the good times as much as I do had I not dwelled in such darkness?

I don’t think so.

So perhaps facing and overcoming adversity with determination and an unshakable mental toughness is the key to happiness. Maybe it’s all about digging deep, finding your sisu, and somehow unearthing the will to keep going, even when you don’t know where you’ll end up.

Just a thought. It’s been floating around in my mind all week, so it seemed like a lesson worth sharing.

How about you – what’s your sisu? Hit reply and let me know. I would love to hear about it.

And if you don’t want to share, that’s okay too. Try using this as a journal prompt as you go into your week.

“What does cultivating and finding my sisu mean to me?”

See you next time,

Carly

P.S. Know someone who would enjoy this newsletter? When you refer just two people, I’ll send you a complimentary copy of my e-book: How To Reduce Chronic Pain Naturally.

If these emails ever become a burden rather than something you look forward to opening each week, I encourage you to unsubscribe. (No hard feelings.)